Two Mormon Sister Missionaries Raped

Two Mormon Missionaries Raped. I am linking to this post from another person’s blog because she compiled some good quotes from LDS leaders on celibacy/Law of Chastity. These quotes are interesting when put on context with the rape of two sister missionaries. My heart goes out to these victims and their families.

Here is the entire text from the link above:

This is not a light subject, so forgive me if I forgo my usual levity.

TWO FEMALE MISSIONARIES were raped, beaten, and one was shot. This happened in South Africa, according to ABC-4. One was from Kenya, and the other from California. This is a very, very sad case, and one has to ask, “Is sending these ‘children’ out to proselytize’ really safe?” What kind of angst will these young women bear the rest of their lives? I grew up in the era of the “it’s better to die than to give up your chastity,” but I don’t think that is pushed so much right now. Nevertheless, it is there, for anyone to see.

I know many young women had a hard time living with a rape, especially after hearing the teachings and counsel of LDS leaders. Here are a few of those.

Not only is safety an issue, but how will these victims deal with this terrible tragedy when they heal physically? Mentally, they have a long road ahead, particularly considering LDS teachings.

Consider these quotes:

“Loss of virtue is too great a price to pay even for the preservation of ones life – better dead clean, than alive unclean. Many is faithful the Latter-day Saint parent who has sent a son or a daughter on a mission or otherwise out into the world with the direction: ‘I would rather have you come back in a pine box with your virtue than return alive without it.’”–Apostle Bruce R. McConkie, Mormon Doctrine (all editions), page 124.

” . . . Your virtue is worth more than your life. Please young folk, preserve your virtue even if you lose your lives. Do not tamper with sin . . . do not permit yourselves to be led into temptation.”–President David O. McKay, quoted in THE MIRACLE OF FORGIVENESS by Spencer W. Kimball

“…There is no true Latter-day Saint who would not rather bury a son or daughter than to have him or her lose his or her chastity — realizing that chastity is of more value than anything else in all the world.”–Heber J. Grant, quoted in THE MIRACLE OF FORGIVENESS by Spencer W. Kimball

“Also far-reaching is the effect of loss of chastity. Once given or taken or stolen it can never be regained. Even in forced contact such as rape or incest, the injured one is greatly outraged. If she has not cooperated and contributed to the foul deed, she is of course in a moe favorable position. There is no condemnation where there is no Voluntary participation. It is better to die in defending one’s virtue than to live having lost it without a struggle.”–Spencer W. Kimball, THE MIRACLE OF FORGIVENESS

“… For behold, many of the daughters of the Lamanites have they taken prisoners; and after depriving them of that which was most dear and precious above all things, which is chastity and virtue–”–Moroni 9:9

“The victim must do all in his or her power to stop the abuse. Most often, the victim is innocent because of being disabled by fear or the power or authority of the offender. At some point in time, however, the Lord may prompt a victim to recognize a degree of responsibility for abuse. Your priesthood leader will help assess your responsibility so that, if needed, it can be addressed. Otherwise the seeds of guilt will remain and sprout into bitter fruit. Yet no matter what degree of responsibility, from absolutely none to increasing consent, the healing power of the atonement of Jesus Christ can provide a complete cure.”
– Apostle Richard G. Scott “Healing the Tragic Scars of Abuse,” General Conference, Ensign, May 1992

“Of course, a mature person who willingly consents to sexual relations must share responsibility for the act, even though the other participant was the aggressor. Persons who consciously invite sexual advances also have a share of responsibility for the behavior that follows. But persons who are truly forced into sexual relations are victims and are not guilty of any sexual sin.”
– First Presidency Letter to General Authorities, Regional Representatives, and other priesthood leadership, 7 Feb. 1985

These girls are going to need a lot of therapy. My heart goes out to them.

~ by bonoboi on October 2, 2006.

12 Responses to “Two Mormon Sister Missionaries Raped”

  1. The sisters were raped it wasn’t there choose to have sex. It is a violent and sad experience. I believe they still have virtue in the eyes of the lord. And I pray they recover and a loving young man sees their virtue and understands it wasn’t their fault.

  2. I really feel for these sisters. They did nothing wrong, my love goes out to them. The Lord will continue to bless them no matter what. They need not worry about what people think, because to the Lord they are still pure and that’s all that matters.

  3. It’s sick what the LDS leaders had to say on celibacy. I could never become a mormon and listen to these old farts.

  4. Many years ago when I was in a young women’s lesson we had the stake presidency giving a fireside. One of the topics was on virtue and being chaste. They opened it up for questions and one of the questions was in fact what if a woman loses her virtue due to rape. The answer is that they have done nothing wrong. They are not sinners, they didn’t provoke it or do anything wrong. It is a very unfortunate circumstance but that the Lord doesn’t look at it as their choice. You quoted many people and I think it gives off the impression that the leaders are saying these women are no longer virtuous. I disagree. I think the circumstances that the leaders are talking about are in regards to the young men or young women who go on their missions and decide FOR THEMSELVES to fool around. I am not sure if this is making sense, but the sisters are not at fault for being raped.

  5. I believe the above quotes are disarming someone who might offer the excuse “Oh, my boyfriend pressured me into it.” They are trying to get young people to grasp how important it is to stand up for ones virtue against worldly influences. Of course rape and abuse are entirely different situations and the victims are not to be blamed but helped.

  6. oh my goodness…thats sad that that had happened to them…im a member of the LDS church as well and ill be going on a full-time mission very soon…id hate for that to happen to me, though i was raped in 06 before i joined the church…and i wish i had been a member during that time because knowing the restored gospel etc would have saved me tones of grief…i also could have gotten better counseling and a blessing etc…Addiction Recovery Program works for me and my sympathy goes out to them and family…if they went on their mission for the right reasons…they wont regret going…its hard for many who arent members to understand why we as sisters and elders go on missions…its about something much greater than ourselves…and the way i feel and look at it all is if i went on mine and i died or had gotten hurt, etc…i would stand my ground/died serving my Heavenly Father…and bringing others a message that is like no other…bad things happen in this world and thats part of our preparation here on earth…ive learned a great deal from my past happenings and it gives me greater strength to serve…im sure they will be rewarded greatly from our Father in Heaven…Christ suffered many and He will bring great comfort as they continue to press forward with faith…trust me…the church tries hard to make sure missionaries stay safe…but there are times when things happen that arent of our control…im sure the sister that was killed on her mission is happy right now serving in the spirit world…i know i would be…

  7. true i agree! if you were raped you havent done anything wrong…

  8. I agree with lindsay…Rape is completely different then choosing for yourself to have sex. Those quotes are misleading without an explanation. The Law of Chastity is about you yourself choosing to be chaste. Rape is not choice. Its terrible. I am planning to go on a mission and I have taken self defense lessons and I encourage any girl to take it. It might not prevent you from getting raped, but it sure can make it more difficult. Remember this: You are a daughter of God. But it doesn’t make life any easier and bad things can happen to good people. My heart goes out to those sisters.

  9. CHOOSING TO WAIGHT IS A CHOICE RAPE ISNT. MY SYMPATHY GOES OUT TO THOSE SISTERS AND HOPE THEY KNOW THAT WHAT THEY WERE DOING (BEING ON A MOSSION) WAS ONE OF THE GREATEST WORK ONE CAN DO FOR THE LORD…I KNOW DEEP INSIDE THEY ARE PROUD THEY DID IT. EVEN THOUGH THE OUTCOME WASNT SO GREAT.THEY WILL BE REWARDED FOR THEIR GOOD DEEDS AND I AM FOR THEM TOO.

  10. Jesus Christ told his apostles not to cast their pearls before swine. He also told a Samarian woman, who was not a descendant of Jacob-Israel, that he did not come to this earth for her or her seed, but only for the “lost sheep of the House of Israel” (the House of Israel being the 10 tribes of the northern kingdom of Israel, which went into Assyrian captivity 700 AD, and once released became lost to historians, for they had lost their identity). This House of Israel, whom the historian, Flavius Josephus, last recorded being beyond the Euphrates river and an “immense multitude,” survived captivity, and was the people to whom the Apostle Peter wrote his epistles. They are the literal descendants of Israel whom we (Mormons) believe will be restored. These are the people who were meant to receive the gospel, the people spoken of by the prophet Hosea, who were divorced from God.

    Taking the gospel into some ghetto, where street urchins cut eachothers’ throats and rape and rob as a matter of normal behavior, is an abomination itself. That is casting pearls before swine if ever there was such a thing. Even when Christ commisioned his apostles to travel and spread the gospel, they were not instructed to go “everywhere.” They were told not to go to the Non-Israelites; and even among Israelites, they were only to go to “worthy” people.

    Africa is the rape capital of planet earth. The only place in Africa that had any protection from rape was Rhodesia and provinces populated and controlled exclusively by White men (Israelites). Now that the the descendants of Cain and Ham rule the roost, no place is safe in Africa. Not coincidentally, every state or city in the United States with the highest population of Cainite-Hamites is also a state or city with an astronomically high rate of rape and violent crime. Why would the LDS church—or any Christain church for that matter—send female missionaries into a dark and festering ghetto where even the street-wise dare not go?

    You know where we should be going? Places like the Ukraine, Deutschland, Sweden.

    • i dont believe it was just the church that sent them. infact heavenly father is the one who inspires the leaders as to where one is called. like i said before hand it wasn’t their fault that it happened to them, but we know that our journey in this life will have some challenging times…if those sisters put their faith in heavenly father they will be able to get through what happened to them..i did…also heavenly father cannot control the choices of others nor can he control our choices. so the people who raped those sister missionaries, and since they were on a mission for our heavenly father, im sure those people will suffer greatly for what theyve done, especially since those sisters were on a ft mission of our heavenly father.

  11. I am a Mormon woman in the Untied States. I am married and separated to an atheist I haven’t seen in many years. I take the gospel with me everywhere I go. Even my scriptures. It’s my comfort. I should be okay speaking about God anywhere. It’s utterly disgusting that this “third world” behavior appears all over the place. It’s not a new concept, the idea of raping God out of a person. It’s as old as time. I met a man a while back. He raped me and was aroused by the early polygamy of the church. He told me I didnt need them because he would be my Brigham Young and come around and have sex with me once a week. He wanted to make a baby too. Like he was doing me a favor. When he was finished, I cried and told him, “I’m not going to the temple anymore”. It aroused this man! He called me the “n” word (he was black, I am white) I think because he said my church was racist. I am deeply disturbed by this behavior. I am hurt on a level that you can’t even understand. What do I care if my husband is a Mormon? I am faithful to him and that felt like taking that precious act and throwing it away. It was a really big deal to me, my fidelity. Outside being a Mormon I would never cheat in a marriage. It was a great big ugly, nasty thing that is everywhere and it doesn’t matter if you are called as a missionary or not. We are all called to missionary work.

Leave a Reply

 
